News | September 27, 2005

Greg Olsen Goes to Space For SWIR Research

Source: Sensors Unlimited - UTC Aerospace Systems
Contact The Supplier

Princeton, NJ – Gregory H. Olsen, co-founder and chairman of the board of Sensors Unlimited, Inc. (SUI), is scheduled to launch to the International Space Station (ISS) on September 30, 2005 at 11:54 PM Eastern time (8:54 PM Pacific) on the Soyuz TMA-7 orbital spaceflight mission from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

Dr. Olsen's launch and return landing will be covered by NASA TV. Scheduled coverage for the events leading up to and including Dr. Olsen's launch is available at NASA TV and/or online at: http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/MM_NTV_Breaking.html

An advanced technology pioneer and renowned entrepreneur, Dr. Olsen, is confirmed by Space Adventures, Ltd. to be the world's third private space explorer and the first space tourist since the Columbia tragedy. While in flight, Dr. Olsen plans to conduct remote sensing and astronomy research projects incorporating Sensors Unlimited's shortwave infrared (SWIR) imaging technology.

A live webcast from the International Space Station will be available beginning October 3, 2005 through October. To view the live coverage, go to www.sensorsinc.com for links and updates. Or click these URLs on the following dates:

Oct. 3, 2005 (Monday) @ 11:00 AM ET/ 8:00 AM PT, ISS Transmission Test: http://www.webcastgroup.com/client/start.asp?wid=0731003051871

Oct. 4, 2005 (Tuesday) @ 6:27 PM ET/ 3:27 PM PT, ISS Live Transmission: http://www.webcastgroup.com/client/start.asp?wid=0731004051872

Oct. 6, 2005 (Thursday) @ 5:42 PM ET/ 2:42 PM PT, ISS Live Transmission with 2-Way Audio at Princeton University, NJ: http://www.webcastgroup.com/client/start.asp?wid=0731006051873

Oct. 7, 2005 (Friday) @ 6:07 PM ET/ 3:07 PM PT, ISS Live Transmission: http://www.webcastgroup.com/client/start.asp?wid=0731007051874

SOURCE: Sensors Unlimited - UTC Aerospace Systems

Sensors Unlimited - UTC Aerospace Systems